Articles

BIO is committed to increased access to biologic medicines for patients throughout the world. 

The Patent Reform Act of 2011 would strengthen and improve our nation’s patent system, spurring innovation and job creation.

Chair:  Adam Monroe, Novozymes North America, Novozymes 
Staff Contact:  Brent Erickson, Executive Vice President, Industrial & Environmental, berickson@bio.org.  

Co-Chair: Tim Cooke, Novadigm
Co-Chair: Angela Hwang, Pfizer
Staff Contacts:  Phyllis Arthur, Senior Director, Vaccines, Immunotherapetuics and Diagnostics Policy, parthur@bio.org.

Co-Chair:  Richard Pops, Alkermes
Co-Chair:  John Maraganore, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
Staff Contact:  Andrew Emmett, Managing Director for Science and Regulatory Affairs, aemmett@bio.org.  

Co-Chair:  Alex Azar, Eli Lilly USA
Co-Chair:  Kristine Peterson, Valeritas
Staff Contact:  Laurel Todd, Managing Director for Reimbursement and Health Policy, ltodd@bio.org.    

Chair:  Scott Kohne, Bayer  
Vice Chair:  Jeff Nawn, DuPont Pioneer
Staff Contact:  Adrianne Massey, Managing Director, Science & Regulatory Affairs, amassey@bio.org.

Chair:  Ron Stotish, AquaBounty       
Staff Contact:  Cathleen Enright, Executive Vice President, Food & Agriculture, cenright@bio.org.   

Co-Chair:  Hal Van Wart, CymaBay Therapeutics 
Co-Chair:  Steve Mento, Conatus Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Staff Contact:  Cartier Esham, Executive Vice President, cesham@bio.org.   

Co-Chair:  Douglas Doerfler, MaxCyte, Inc.
Co-Chair:  John Orwin, Relypsa
Staff Contact:  Shelly Mui-Lipnik, Senior Director, Capital Formation & Financial Services Policy, smui-lipnik@bio.org

Chair: Mark Skaletsky, Cheif Executive Officer, Fenway Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 
Staff Contact: Kenneth Lisaius, Vice President, Communications, klisaius@bio.org

Subject Matter/Jurisdiction: The committee oversees BIO’s communications, media relations, website, public education, focus groups, and external outreach initiatives.

Roster:

Chairman:
Mark Skaletsky, Cheif Executive Officer, Fenway Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Chair: Paul Hastings, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Staff Contacts:  Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender@bio.org

Subject Matter/Jurisdiction:  The committee oversees BIO’s Alliance Development initiatives and strategic engagement with third party stakeholders including patient advocacy, provider, and other organizations committed to ensuring access to innovative therapies.  

Roster: 

Chair: Peter Greenleaf, Chief Executive Officer, Sucampo
Staff Contacts:  Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender@bio.org

Chair:  David Pyott, Chairman & CEO, Allergan, Inc. 
Staff Contact:  Joseph Damond, Senior Vice President, International Affairs, jdamond@bio.org  

Subject Matter/Jurisdiction:  The committee oversees, in conjunction with other relevant BIO committees, BIO’s international work plan objectives to foster an environment conducive to biotechnology, re-shape the debate on IP and pro-innovation policies, and influence regulatory reform and harmonization discussions in key international markets.  The committee’s jurisdiction includes oversight of BIO’s International Affairs Initiative, international organization matters (e.g., WHO, WTO, WIPO, APEC, OECD), international advocacy and education programs, international studies, and coordinating efforts of foreign peer organizations.

Chair: VACANT  
Staff Contact: Tom DiLenge, General Counsel & Head of Public Policy, tdilenge@bio.org

Subject Matter/Jurisdiction: The committee oversees domestic intellectual property (IP) issues (e.g., patent term, patent reform, Patent and Trademark Office matters, judiciary, and IP budgetary issues), international IP issues (e.g., GATT, TRIPS, WTO, WHO, CBD), and the Biojudiciary Project initiative.

Roster:

Chair:  VACANT

Chair:  Perry Karsen, Celgene Cellular Therapeutics
Staff Contact:  Amy Finan, Senior Vice President, Business Operations, afinan@bio.org

Chair:  Alexis Borisy, Chairman, Forma Therapeutics, Inc.
Staff Contact:  Sara Radcliffe, Executive Vice President, Health Section, sradcliffe@bio.org

Chair: Daniel Junius, President & CEO, ImmunoGen, Inc.  
Staff Contacts: Joanne Duncan, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Finance & Administration, jduncan@bio.org; Tom DiLenge, General Counsel & Head of Public Policy, tdilenge@bio.org

Position Title: Director for Regulatory Affairs
Department: Food and Agriculture
Reports to: Executive Vice President

Position summary:

Individual will serve as Director for Regulatory Affairs responsible for leading BIO’s biotechnology regulatory issues management, advocating for industry’s positions on regulatory policies, and working with member companies to develop tools and materials for addressing their needs.

Responsibilities:

BIO and the Association of Biotechnology Led Enterprises (ABLE) have released a new report, entitled Accelerating Growth: Forging India’s Bioeconomy, which present recommendations in support the growth of the country’s bioeconomy.

While not immune to the economic crisis and resulting recession, the bioscience industry weathered difficult economic times better than most industries, and is on course to regain its previous high employment levels. Indeed, the promise of bioscience-based solutions to global.

The Jumpstart Our Business Startup (JOBS) Act marks a key departure from the previous one-size-fits-all regulatory approach for companies conducting a public offering.

HealthTech Conference 2014 attendees receive a discounted rate to BIO 2014. Choose your registration type:

•   Convention Access, use code WLSA14CA
•   Education & Exhibition Access, use code WLSA14
•   Exhibition Access, use code WLSA14X

To compare registration packages and to register for BIO 2014, visit this page: http://convention.bio.org/register/