Articles

BIO is committed to increased access to biologic medicines for patients throughout the world. 

The Patent Reform Act of 2011 would strengthen and improve our nation’s patent system, spurring innovation and job creation.

Position Title: Managing Director, Business Solutions

Department: Public Affairs / Member Services

Reports to: Vice President, External Affairs & Member Services                  

Position summary: 

Thank you for registering for the 2014 CSBA/SGRC Retreat! If you have any question please contact Caitlin Van Sant at cvansant@bio.org.

All BIO members benefit from access to networking opportunities, members’ only committees, as well as discounts at conferences and on business services and supplies from major brands. In addition to the standard member benefits, BIO is pleased to offer unique and recently expanded benefits to its law firms members.

BIO Business Solutions

Position Title: Manager, Partnering Operations

Department: Business Development

Reports to: Director, Partnering Products & Services

Position summary: 

Chair:  Adam Monroe, Novozymes North America, Novozymes 
Staff Contact:  Brent Erickson, Executive Vice President, Industrial & Environmental, berickson@bio.org.  

Co-Chair: Tim Cooke, Novadigm
Co-Chair: Angela Hwang, Pfizer
Staff Contacts:  Phyllis Arthur, Senior Director, Vaccines, Immunotherapetuics and Diagnostics Policy, parthur@bio.org.

Co-Chair:  Richard Pops, Alkermes
Co-Chair:  John Maraganore, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
Staff Contact:  Andrew Emmett, Managing Director for Science and Regulatory Affairs, aemmett@bio.org.  

Co-Chair:  Alex Azar, Eli Lilly USA
Co-Chair:  Kristine Peterson, Valeritas
Staff Contact:  Laurel Todd, Managing Director for Reimbursement and Health Policy, ltodd@bio.org.    

Chair:  Scott Kohne, Bayer  
Vice Chair:  Jeff Nawn, DuPont Pioneer
Staff Contact:  Adrianne Massey, Managing Director, Science & Regulatory Affairs, amassey@bio.org.

Chair:  Ron Stotish, AquaBounty       
Staff Contact:  Cathleen Enright, Executive Vice President, Food & Agriculture, cenright@bio.org.   

Co-Chair:  Hal Van Wart, CymaBay Therapeutics 
Co-Chair:  Steve Mento, Conatus Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Staff Contact:  Cartier Esham, Executive Vice President, cesham@bio.org.   

Co-Chair:  Douglas Doerfler, Chief Executive Officer, MaxCyte, Inc.
Co-Chair:  John Orwin, Chief Executive Officer, Relypsa
Staff Contact:  Shelly Mui-Lipnik, Senior Director, Capital Formation & Financial Services Policy, smui-lipnik@bio.org

Chair: Vacant 
Staff Contact: Kenneth Lisaius, Senior Vice President, Communications, klisaius@bio.org

Description:  The committee oversees BIO’s communications, media relations, website, public education, focus groups, and external outreach initiatives.

Chairman:
Vacant

Chair: Paul Hastings, President & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Staff Contacts:  Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender@bio.org

Description:  The committee oversees BIO’s Alliance Development initiatives and strategic engagement with third party stakeholders including patient advocacy, provider, and other organizations committed to ensuring the development of and access to innovative therapies.  

Chair: Peter Greenleaf, Chief Executive Officer, Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 
Staff Contacts:  Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender@bio.org

Chair:  David Pyott, Chairman & CEO, Allergan, Inc. 
Staff Contact:  Joseph Damond, Senior Vice President, International Affairs, jdamond@bio.org  

Description: The committee oversees, in conjunction with other relevant BIO committees, BIO’s international work plan objectives to foster an environment conducive to biotechnology, re-shape the debate on IP and pro-innovation policies, and influence regulatory reform and harmonization discussions in key international markets.  The committee’s jurisdiction includes oversight of BIO’s International Affairs Initiative, international organization matters (e.g., WHO, WTO, WIPO, APEC, OECD), international advocacy and education programs, international studies, and coordinating efforts of foreign peer organizations.

Chair: VACANT  
Staff Contact: Tom DiLenge, General Counsel & Head of Public Policy, tdilenge@bio.org

Description:  The committee oversees domestic intellectual property (IP) issues (e.g., patent system reforms, Patent and Trademark Office administrative & policy matters, judicial developments, and IP budgetary issues), and international IP issues (e.g., TRIPS, WTO, WHO, CBD), and other trade-related agreements).

Chair:  VACANT

Chair:  Perry Karsen, Chief Executive Officer, Celgene Cellular Therapeutics, Inc.
Staff Contact:  Amy Finan, Senior Vice President, Business Operations, afinan@bio.org

Chair:  Alexis Borisy, Chairman, Forma Therapeutics, Inc.
Staff Contact:  Sara Radcliffe, Executive Vice President, Health Section, sradcliffe@bio.org

Chair:  Daniel Junius, President & CEO, ImmunoGen, Inc.
Vice Chair:  Bradford Zakes, Chief Executive Officer, Cerevast Therapeutics, Inc. 
Staff Contacts: Joanne Duncan, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Finance & Administration, jduncan@bio.org.

Position Title: Director for Regulatory Affairs
Department: Food and Agriculture
Reports to: Executive Vice President

Position summary:

Individual will serve as Director for Regulatory Affairs responsible for leading BIO’s biotechnology regulatory issues management, advocating for industry’s positions on regulatory policies, and working with member companies to develop tools and materials for addressing their needs.

Responsibilities: