Patient requests for access to drugs and biologics prior to their approval have long created a dilemma for biotechnology companies.

Thank you for registering for the 2015 CSBA/SGRC Retreat! If you have any question please contact Brian Stoker at

All BIO members benefit from access to networking opportunities, members’ only committees, as well as discounts at conferences and on business services and supplies from major brands. In addition to the standard member benefits, BIO is pleased to offer unique and recently expanded benefits to its law firms members.

BIO Business Solutions

Chair: Adam Monroe, President-Americas, Novozymes 
Staff Contact: Brent Erickson, Executive Vice President, Industrial & Environmental, berickson(@)  

Co-Chair: Timothy Cooke, Chief Executive Officer, Novadigm Therapeutics, Inc.
Co-Chair: Angela Hwang, US Regional Lead, Pfizer, Inc.
Staff Contact: Phyllis Arthur, Senior Director, Vaccines, Immunotherapetuics and Diagnostics Policy, parthur(at)

Co-Chair: Richard Pops, Chairman & CEO, Alkermes, plc
Co-Chair: John Maraganore, Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Staff Contact: Andrew Emmett, Managing Director for Science and Regulatory Affairs, aemmett(at)  

Co-Chair: Alex Azar, President, Eli Lilly, USA
Co-Chair: Kristine Peterson, Chief Executive Officer, Valeritas, Inc.
Staff Contact: Laurel Todd, Managing Director for Reimbursement and Health Policy, ltodd(at)    

Chair: Scott Kohne, Market Acceptance Manager, NAFTA, Bayer CropScience, Inc.
Vice Chair: Jeffrey Nawn, Senior Manager, Biotech Affairs and Regulatory, Dupont Pioneer
Staff Contact: Adrianne Massey, Managing Director, Food & Agriculture, amassey(at)

Chair: Ronald Stotish, Chief Executive Officer, Aqua Bounty Technologies, Inc.       
Vice Chair: Robin Readnour, Senior Director, Technology Acquisition & Biological Product Development, Elanco, Inc.
Staff Contact: Cathleen Enright, Executive Vice President, Food & Agriculture, cenright(at)   

Co-Chair: Steven Mento, Co-Founder, President, CEO, & Chairman, Conatus Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Co-Chair: Hal Van Wart, President & CEO, CymaBay Therapeutics
Staff Contact: Cartier Esham, Executive Vice President, Emerging Companies, cesham(at)   

Co-Chair: Douglas Doerfler, President & CEO, MaxCyte, Inc.
Co-Chair: John Orwin, Chief Executive Officer, Relypsa, Inc.
Staff Contact: Shelly Mui-Lipnik, Senior Director, Capital Formation & Financial Services Policy, smui-lipnik(at) 

Staff Contact: Kenneth Lisaius, Senior Vice President, Communications, klisaius(at)

Description: The committee oversees BIO’s communications, media relations, website, public education, focus groups, and external outreach initiatives.

Chair: Paul Hastings, President & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Staff Contact: Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender(at)

Description: The committee oversees BIO’s Alliance Development initiatives and strategic engagement with third party stakeholders including patient advocacy, provider, and other organizations committed to ensuring the development of and access to innovative therapies. 

Chair: Peter Greenleaf, Chief Executive Officer, Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 
Staff Contact: Frederick Bittenbender, Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, fbittenbender(at)

Chair: David Pyott, Chairman & CEO, Allergan, Inc. 
Staff Contact: Joseph Damond, Senior Vice President, International Affairs, jdamond(at)  

Description:The committee oversees, in conjunction with other relevant BIO committees, BIO’s international work plan objectives to foster an environment conducive to biotechnology, re-shape the debate on IP and pro-innovation policies, and influence regulatory reform and harmonization discussions in key international markets.  The committee’s jurisdiction includes oversight of BIO’s International Affairs Initiative, international organization matters (e.g., WHO, WTO, WIPO, APEC, OECD), international advocacy and education programs, international studies, and coordinating efforts of foreign peer organizations.

Chair: VACANT 
Staff Contact: Tom DiLenge, General Counsel & Head of Public Policy, tdilenge(at)

Description: The committee oversees domestic intellectual property (IP) issues (e.g., patent system reforms, Patent and Trademark Office administrative & policy matters, judicial developments, and IP budgetary issues), and international IP issues (e.g., TRIPS, WTO, WHO, CBD), and other trade-related agreements).

Chair: Perry Karsen, Chief Executive Officer, Celgene Cellular Therapeutics, Inc.
Staff Contact: Amy Finan, Senior Vice President, Business Development, afinan(at) 

Co-Chair: Daniel Tasse, Chairman & CEO, Ikaria, Inc.
Co-Chair: Allen Waxman, SVP & General Counsel, Eisai, Inc.
Staff Contact: Sara Radcliffe, Executive Vice President, Health Section, sradcliffe(at)

Chair: Daniel Junius, President & CEO, ImmunoGen, Inc.
Vice Chair: Bradford Zakes, Chief Executive Officer, Cerevast Therapeutics, Inc. 
Staff Contact: Joanne Duncan, Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President, Finance & Administration, jduncan(at)

BIO and the Association of Biotechnology Led Enterprises (ABLE) have released a new report, entitled Accelerating Growth: Forging India’s Bioeconomy, which present recommendations in support the growth of the country’s bioeconomy.

While not immune to the economic crisis and resulting recession, the bioscience industry weathered difficult economic times better than most industries, and is on course to regain its previous high employment levels. Indeed, the promise of bioscience-based solutions to global.

The Jumpstart Our Business Startup (JOBS) Act marks a key departure from the previous one-size-fits-all regulatory approach for companies conducting a public offering.

HealthTech Conference 2014 attendees receive a discounted rate to BIO 2014. Choose your registration type:

•   Convention Access, use code WLSA14CA
•   Education & Exhibition Access, use code WLSA14
•   Exhibition Access, use code WLSA14X

To compare registration packages and to register for BIO 2014, visit this page: