George Washington Carver Award for Innovation in Industrial Biotechnology

  • Recommend
  • Tweet
  • Print
  • Email

Congratulations to 2014 Award Winner

Ellen Kullman has been named as the 2014 recipient of the George Washington Carver Award.

Chair of the Board & Chief Executive Officer

Ellen Kullman, 58, has been the chair of the board of directors and chief executive officer of DuPont since 2009.  She was named CEO on Jan. 1 and board chair on Dec. 31, 2009. She is the 19th executive to lead the company since DuPont was founded in 1802.

A native of Wilmington, Del., Ellen has championed the power of DuPont science and global market knowledge to transform industries.  Under her leadership, she has decisively positioned the company as a higher growth, higher value, less cyclical company.  Decision making has moved closer to customers around the world, resulting in greater partnering, collaboration and innovation attuned to local needs.

Prior to being appointed chair of the board and chief executive officer, Ellen served as president, executive vice president and a member of the company’s office of the chief executive.  During her 25-year career with DuPont, Ellen has led the company’s focus on growth in emerging international markets, led double-digit growth of the company’s Safety & Protection business portfolio, started-up two successful high-growth businesses known today as DuPont Industrial Biosciences and DuPont Sustainable Solutions and run several industrial businesses, including White Pigment & Mineral Products.  Ellen began her career at DuPont in 1988 as a marketing manager for the DuPont medical imaging business.  Prior to joining DuPont, Ellen worked for Westinghouse and General Electric.

She is a board director of United Technologies Corp.  Ellen is chair of the U.S. China Business Council and member of the U.S. India Business Council.  Ellen is executive committee member of the Business Council and board member of Catalyst, Inc.  She is a board member of Change the Equation (CTEq), a national coalition of more than 100 CEOs committed to improving science, technology, engineering and mathematics learning (STEM) for U.S. pre-kindergarten to grade 12 students.  Ellen is on the board of trustees of Tufts University and the board of overseers for Tufts School of Engineering.

Ellen has been named as one of the "50 Most Powerful Women in Business" by Fortune and one of the 50 "World’s Most Powerful Women" by Forbes. Ellen holds a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering from Tufts University and a Master of Science in Management from Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.  In 2013 she received an honorary Doctor of Science from the University of Edinburgh.

The George Washington Carver Award honors the original vision of George Washington Carver who, over a century ago, achieved world renown by using agriculture and science to produce everyday products, changing the nature of farm economics and sustainability. To learn more about George Washington Carver and the past winners of the award click here.

Past recipients include:
2013: Dr. Jay Keasling, University of California, Berkley
2012: Steen Riisgaard, Novozymes 
2011: Feike Sijbesma, DSM
2010: Greg Stephanopoulos, MIT
2009: Charles Holliday, Jr., DuPont
2008: Patrick Gruber, Gevo