Placeholder Banner

2012 Biotech Humanitarian Award Nominations Open

March 22, 2012
BIO is now accepting nominations for the fourth annual Biotech Humanitarian Award. The Award will be given to an individual who, through their work in or support of biotechnology, is harnessing its potential to heal, fuel or feed the planet. The Humanitarian Award honors work that aims to reduce human suffering significantly or enhance the human experience in a way that has a clear and direct benefit to society.  Additional consideration will be given to approaches that are at a turning point and may potentially have immeasurable influence.

BIO is asking people from within our own biotech community to nominate others in their field who they believe have produced tangible benefits to humanity. This is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the work of a colleague and applaud the impact biotechnology continues to have on contemporary society. You should feel free to nominate anyone in the biotechnology industry including advocates, scientists, researchers, academics, entrepreneurs, financiers, philanthropists, educators and others.

The Biotech Humanitarian Award winner will be announced at the to the 2012 BIO International Convention and receive $10,000. Nominations are open to all individuals and can be accessed via All nominations must be submitted by April 13, 2012, in order to be considered.

A panel of judges will evaluate nominees based on the following criteria: impact on future generations; impact on contemporary society; contribution to the field of biotechnology; and level of innovation exhibited.

Past Recipients Include:

  • 2011 Honoree: Dr. Paul Offit, Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases and the Director of the Vaccine Education Center at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

  • 2010 Honoree: Robert Klein, chairman of the governing board of the California Institute of Regenerative Medicine

  • 2009 Honoree: Dr. Jay Keasling, CEO of the Joint BioEnergy Institute, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering at the University of California at Berkley and acting Deputy Director of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory