Open Nav

Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biotechnology and Agriculture

Sponsored by the Rosalind Franklin Society
Each year this award is given to an outstanding woman in the industrial or agricultural biotech who has made significant contributions to the advancement of the biobased economy and biotech innovation.

Past Award Recipients: 

  • Krysta Harden, Senior Vice President, External Affairs & Chief Sustainability Officer, Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont
  • Vonnie Estes 
  • Anna Rath, President & CEO, Nexsteppe, Inc.
  • Jennifer Holmgren, CEO, LanzaTech
  • Dr. Debbie Yaver, Director of Expression Technology, Genomics and Bioinformatics, Novozymes 


George Washington Carver Award for Innovation in Industrial Biotechnology and Agriculture

Sponsored by: State of Iowa & Iowa Economic Development Authority

Just as George Washington Carver exhibited vision, creativity and persistence, nominees should exhibit traits of innovation and pioneering efforts in the field of industrial biotechnology. This award was created to recognize significant contributions by individuals in the field of industrial biotechnology and its application in biological engineering, environmental science, biorefining, and biobased products. 

Nominations are now closed. Award Recipient will be announced Mid-April.

Past Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Sang Yup Lee, Distingushed Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology 
  • Jeff Broin, Chairman & CEO, POET
  • Dr. J. Craig Venter, Co-Founder of Synthetic Genomics and Executive Chairman of Human Longevity
  • Jonathan Wolfson, CEO & Co-Founder, Solazyme
  • Ellen Kullman, CEO & Chair of the Board, DuPont - View her acceptance speech here
  • Dr. Jay Keasling, Hubbard Howe Jr.Distinguished Professor of Biochemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley 
  • Steen Riisgaard, President and CEO of Novozymes
  • Feike Sijbesma, CEO, DSM
  • Dr. Greg Stephanopoulos,  Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT
  • Charles O. Holliday, Jr.,  CEO & Chair of the Board, DuPont
  • Patrick Gruber, CEO, Gevo, Inc


BIO Leadership and Legacy Award in Industrial Biotechnology and Agriculture

This award is presented to an individual who has shown exemplary leadership and who has dedicated a significant portion of their career to advancing industrial biotechnology and growing the biobased economy.

Past Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Gord Surgeoner, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies
  • Dr. Ganesh Kishore, Managing Partner, Spruce Capital Partners