BIO Welcomes New Executive Committee and Section Governing Board Members

The Board of Directors of BIO elected its Executive Committee and added new members to Section Governing Boards in a meeting held in conjunction with the <a href="" target="_blank">2012 BIO International Convention</a>.</p>

Washington, D.C. (June 19, 2012) – The Board of Directors of the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) elected its Executive Committee and added new members to Section Governing Boards in a meeting held in conjunction with the 2012 BIO International Convention, the global event for biotechnology, taking place June 18-21, 2012 at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center in Boston, MA.

“We are pleased to welcome the new members of the Executive Committee and Section Governing Boards,” stated BIO President and CEO Jim Greenwood.  “Their new perspectives and ideas are valuable additions to the collective expertise of the BIO Board as we advocate for public policy in the U.S. and around the world that encourages the research and development necessary for continued innovation in breakthrough medical therapies, enhanced agricultural products and revolutionary biofuels.”

H. Thomas Watkins, President and CEO of Human Genome Sciences, Inc., will continue to serve as the Chair of the Board of Directors and of the Health Section Governing Board.

Members of the Executive Committee of BIO’s Board of Directors for the 2012-2013 term are:

·Fabrizio Bonanni, Board Secretary

Executive Vice President, Operations, Amgen, Inc.

·Ian Clark, At Large

CEO & Head of North American Commercial Operations, Genentech, Roche Group

·Ron Cohen, At Large

President & CEO, Acorda Therapeutics, Inc.

·Deborah Dunsire, At Large

President & CEO, Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company

·Geno Germano, At Large
President and General Manager of Specialty Care and Oncology, Pfizer, Inc.

·Peter Greenleaf, At Large
President, MedImmune, AstraZeneca, PLC

·Paul Hastings, Emerging Companies Section Chair

President & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Rachel King, Health Section Vice Chair

President & CEO, GlycoMimetics, Inc.

·John Maraganore, Emerging Companies Section Vice Chair

Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Adam Monroe, Industrial & Environmental Section Chair

President, Novozymes North America, Novozymes

·Richard Pops, At Large

Chairman & CEO, Alkermes, plc

·David Pyott, At Large

Chairman & CEO, Allergan, Inc.

·Stephen Sherwin, Board Immediate Past Chair

Chair Emeritus

·Jay Siegel, At Large

Chief Biotechnology Officer & Head, Global Regulatory Affairs, Johnson and Johnson

·Mark Skaletsky, Board Treasurer

Chairman & CEO, Fenway Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Gerald Steiner, Food & Agriculture Section Vice Chair

Executive Vice President, Sustainability & Corporate Affairs, Monsanto Company

·Steve Tuttle, Industrial & Environmental Section Vice Chair

Global Business Director Biosciences Ventures & Business Development, The Dow Chemical Company

·H. Thomas Watkins, Board & Health Section Chair

President & CEO, Human Genome Sciences, Inc.

·Barbara Wells, Food & Agriculture Section Chair

President, BHW Enterprises, LLC, ArborGen, Inc.

The full BIO Board of Directors is comprised of the elected Directors serving on each of BIO’s Section Governing Boards (Emerging Companies, Food and Agriculture, Health, and Industrial and Environmental). The newly-elected Board Members from these sections are:

Emerging Companies Section Governing Board

·Arlene Morris, Chief Executive Officer, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Mike Naraci, Chief Executive Officer, Orexigen Therapeutics, Inc.

·David Schenkein, Chief Executive Officer, Agios Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Moncef Slaoui, Chairman, Research & Development, GlaxoSmithKline, plc

Food and Agriculture Section Governing Board

No New Members

Health Section Governing Board

·Marc Beer, Chief Executive Officer, Aegerion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

·Jeff Leiden, President & CEO, Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated

·Nick Leschly, President & CEO, bluebird bio

·Kenneth Moch, President & CEO, Chimerix, Inc.

·John Orwin, Chief Executive Officer, Affymax, Inc.

·Moncef Slaoui, Chairman, Research & Development, GlaxoSmithKline, plc

·Henri Termeer, Chair Emeritus

Industrial and Environmental Section Governing Board

·Jill Zullo, Technical Director, Cargill, Inc.

·James Collins, President, DuPont Industrial Biosciences

·John Nicols, President & CEO, Codexis, Inc.

A full list of the members of the Section Governing Boards can be found at