BIO Honors Four 'Outstanding Legislators Of The Year'

WASHINGTON, D.C.(April 22, 1999) The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) honored four members of Congress with its "Outstanding Legislator of the Year" awards.

U.S.Sens. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Connie Mack (R- Fla.) and U.S. Reps. Calvin Dooley (D-Calif.) and Jim Greenwood (R- Pa.) received the annual industry award for support of legislative issues critical to the continued growth and worldwide prominence of the biotech industry. The presentations were made during BIO's Legislative Day on Capitol Hill Wednesday, April 21.

Chuck Ludlam, BIO's vice president for government relations, said, "These legislators exhibited leadership and courage on a broad range of issues: defeat of hastily drafted anti-cloning legislation that would have impeded basic biomedical research; passage of the FDA Modernization Act to streamline development of new therapies and cures; and support for agricultural biotech products to improve foods and farming.

"We are honored to work with these champions to make sure the U.S. biotech industry remains the global leader in developing innovative products for health care, agriculture, manufacturing and environmental management."

BIO represents more than 850 biotech companies, academic institutions and state biotech centers in 47 states and 26 nations.