Placeholder Banner

Nominate Biotech Heroes for BIO's Impact Awards

May 8, 2023
Media Contact

Nominations are now open for two prestigious awards to honor today’s biotech heroes—innovators who are driving discoveries to strengthen agricultural, environmental and economic resiliency. Collectively known as the Biotechnology Innovation Organization’s Impact Awards, the awards are presented in conjunction with BIO’s Impact Ag & Environment Conference.  

The George Washington Carver Award recognizes significant contributions by individuals in the fields of agricultural and environmental biotechnology. The award emphasizes the goal of using biotech innovation to develop sustainable value chains and honor George Washington Carver who, more than a century ago, pioneered the creation and commercialization of sustainable biobased products. Those submitting nominations should identify individuals who have demonstrated significant and innovative accomplishments within the industry to advance a biobased economy and industrial sustainability. 

The Rosalind Franklin Award is presented to a pioneering woman in the agricultural or environmental sector of biotechnology who has made significant contributions to the advancement of the bioeconomy and biotech innovation. The award honors the legacy left by Rosalind Franklin, who was instrumental in the discovery, and our greater understanding, of the molecular structure of DNA. This award honors Rosalind Franklin’s legacy and the women who have also shown exemplary leadership, led the way through previously uncharted territory, and have made significant contributions to our industry. 

“Thanks to innovators working to transform the way we feed people and fuel the economy, we are building a more sustainable world and ensuring that we can meet the climate and resource challenges we face,” said Beth Ellikidis, BIO’s vice president for agriculture and environment. “BIO is proud to recognize individuals whose work demonstrates the potential biotechnology has on ever-growing needs and populations.” 

A selection committee will review the nominations and BIO will announce the award winners in September at the BIO Impact Ag & Environment Conference, Sept. 19 – 20, 2023, in Raleigh, N.C. Fourteen people have won the George Washington Carver Award since it began in 2008, and eight women have won the Rosalind Franklin Award since it began in 2014. Click here for a list of past recipients. 


Discover More
The following statement concerning the Environmental Protection Agency’s final rule on regulation of Plant Incorporated Protectants (PIPs) under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) may be attributed to John Murphy, chief…
BIO CEO Rachel King and Califf will discuss  issues impacting FDA and the biotech community WASHINGTON - (May 25, 2023) – Robert Califf, commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration, will be the keynote speaker on day three of the 2023 BIO…
BIO CEO Rachel King and Couric to Discuss How Standing Up for Science and Patients Are at the Heart of Biotech WASHINGTON - (May 16, 2023) – Katie Couric, award-winning journalist, New York Times best-selling author, and longtime cancer…