Placeholder Banner

Senator Stabenow, BIO CEO, and Industry Leaders to Convene BIO IMPACT “Justice Through Science” Plenary

September 15, 2020
Media Contact
Connor McKoy

Washington, D.C. (September 15, 2020) – Next week at BIO IMPACT Digital (Sept. 21-22), Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) will join a panel of women leaders in the bioeconomy for a timely discussion about how smart policy can drive scientific  breakthroughs for the benefit of humanity, our economy, and our planet.

Sen. Stabenow will be joined by BIO’s President and CEO Dr. Michelle McMurry-Heath, who will moderate the plenary discussion, Delivering Justice Through Science. Additional panelists include Sylvia Wulf, AquaBounty Technologies, Inc.’s CEO and Chair of BIO’s Food and Agriculture Section Governing Board, and Jill Zullo, Cargill’s Vice President for Bioindustrials North America and Chair of BIO’s Industrial and Environmental Section Governing Board.

As the COVID crisis exposes and compounds public health disparities within our society, climate-positive practices on the farm, in energy production, and in manufacturing offer promising health, wellness, and sustainability solutions for all. This virtual discussion will take place 3:00-4:00 PM EDT on Monday, Sept. 21.

Complimentary media registration is available to editors and reporters working for print, broadcast, or web publications with valid press credentials.

Last week, BIO announced that U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue will also headline the first-ever BIO IMPACT Digital Ag & Environment Conference. Secretary Perdue will join Brian Brazeau, Vice-chair of BIO’s Food and Agriculture Section Governing Board and President of Novozymes North America, for a fireside chat on USDA's Leadership in Driving Innovation in Agriculture on September 22, 10:00 AM EDT .

A list of the full programming is below or available here. Other notable speakers include:

  • U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue
  • Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Dr. Michelle McMurry-Heath, BIO’s President and CEO
  • Doug Berven, POET, LLC
  • Brian Brazeau, Novozymes
  • Doug Cole, Simplot Plant Sciences
  • Stephen Croskrey, Danimer Scientific, Inc
  • Barb Glenn, National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA)
  • Pat Gruber, Gevo
  • Keira Havens, Pivot Bio, Inc.
  • Joshua Hoffman, Zymergen
  • Greg Jaffe, Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)
  • Jason Kelly, PhD, Gingko Bioworks
  • James LaLonde, Inscripta
  • John Melo, Amyris
  • Philip Miller, PhD, Bayer Crop Science
  • Susanne Palsten Buchardt, Novozymes
  • Andreas Renz, Vestaron Corporation
  • Elena Rice, Genus plc
  • Christophe Schilling, Genomatica
  • Puneet Trehan, IKEA
  • Sylvia Wulf, AquaBounty
  • Roger Wyse, PhD, Spruce Capital Partners
  • Jill Zullo, Cargill

Complimentary media registration is available to editors and reporters working for print, broadcast, or web publications with valid press credentials.

For more information on the conference, please visit Please contact Connor McKoy ( if you have any questions.

Discover More
Stephanie Batchelor, vice president of BIO's Industrial and Environmental Section, released the following statement in reaction to the Trump administration's move to issue Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) waivers for the 2019 compliance year. “This…
"What a historic election for our country! For the first time in 120 years, American voter participation shattered many turnout records.    "At BIO we undertook an effort to mobilize and activate voters in our industry with Biotech Votes…
Washington, D.C. (September 22, 2020) –The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) today presented Sharon Bomer Lauritsen, founder of AgTrade Strategies LLC, former Assistant United States Trade Representative for Agricultural Affairs and…