Placeholder Banner

BIO Presents Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.) Legislator of the Year Award

February 28, 2017

The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) today presented Senator John Thune (R-S.D.) its Industrial & Environmental Section Legislator of the Year Award. The award recognizes Senator Thune’s support of the biotechnology industry and steadfast commitment to growing South Dakota’s and the nation’s biobased economy. The award was presented by Doug Berven, a member of BIO’s governing board and vice president of corporate affairs at POET, which is headquartered in Sioux Falls, and Brent Erickson, executive vice president of BIO’s Industrial & Environmental Section.

Erickson stated:

“Senator John Thune has been a strong and constant champion of policies that support industrial biotechnology companies in creating jobs, revitalizing manufacturing, improving U.S. energy security and building a biobased economy.

“Senator Thune was first elected to the Senate in 2004, when the first Renewable Fuel Standard was under development. He helped expand the program in 2007 and has been a determined advocate in encouraging the Environmental Protection Agency to get the program on track for future growth.

“As a member of the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee, Senator Thune co-sponsored legislation to ensure mandatory funding for energy programs in the Agriculture Act of 2014. Through his efforts, Congress has incorporated innovative programs in the Farm bill to spur the development of biomass, purpose grown energy crops, biobased products and renewable chemicals.

“As a member of the Senate Finance Committee, Senator Thune has been instrumental in renewing tax credits for second-generation biofuels. We look forward to working with the Senator in extending these credits in any tax reform and developing new credits for emerging renewable chemicals.”

Discover More
Washington, DC (November 20, 2020) – Dr. Michelle McMurry-Heath, president and CEO of the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO), issued the following statement after the Trump administration moved forward with its threat to impose…
"What a historic election for our country! For the first time in 120 years, American voter participation shattered many turnout records.    "At BIO we undertook an effort to mobilize and activate voters in our industry with Biotech Votes…
The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) today announced a new, strategic direction that will help guide it to achieving long-term goals while maintaining responsiveness to changing political headwinds. Announcing the new vision, mission and…